Owings Mills, MD– Baltimore Ravens Coach John Harbaugh wants more clarification in NFL’s catch rule Isaiah possiblyGo-ahead touchdown overturned Sunday lost 27-22 till pittsburgh steelers,
“It’s as clear as mud right now,” Harbaugh said Monday. “That’s how I feel about it.”
The referees initially ruled that the score would likely be scored on a 13-yard pass. lamar jackson – which would have given the Ravens a one-point lead with 2:43 remaining – despite losing the ball in the end zone.
But less than a minute later, referee Alex Moore declared it incomplete. The ball was possibly punched by a Steelers cornerback. Joey Porter Jr.Before he took a third step into the end zone, Mark Butterworth, the NFL’s vice president of instant replay, explained in a pool report on Sunday that the third step is “a normal function for the game” and needs to be completed for it to be called a touchdown,
According to Rule 8, Section 1, Paragraph 3, a forward pass is completed when a player regains control of the ball, touches the ground with both feet or any part of his body other than his hands and then he “performs any action clearly normal to the game (for example, advance the ball, take an extra step, throw the ball away and upfield, or avoid or drive away an opponent), or he attempts to do so Maintains control of the ball for a long period of time.”
Harbaugh called the league on Monday and spoke with NFL senior vice president of officiating administration Perry Fewell and NFL officiating rules analyst Walt Anderson. discussed about Calls reversed in the fourth quarter:Possibly a touchdown and an interception by Baltimore aaron rodgers,
“It doesn’t clarify anything,” Harbaugh said. “It doesn’t make either of those calls easy to understand. It’s much harder to understand how they get overturned, but they did and there it is.”
Asked if the potential overturned touchdown cost the Ravens the game, Harbaugh replied, “You never know what cost you the game.”
The loss dropped the Ravens to 6–7 – one game behind the first-place Steelers in the AFC North with four weeks remaining.
Harbaugh said the league acknowledged it made the wrong call. travis jones‘Unnecessary roughness penalty on the Steelers’ 32-yard field goal in the second quarter. Instead of a field goal, the Steelers scored a touchdown on a play after a penalty, meaning they received an additional four points on that drive.
Moore told a pool reporter after the game that Jones made “forcible” and “unnecessary” contact with the long snapper, but that Jones should not have been penalized because he made no contact with the head or neck area.
“That’s the rule,” Harbaugh said. “It’s not that you rush a player trying to block a field goal – that’s nothing to do with that. It’s forceful contact to the head and neck area.”

